LTS Programme

Details of NPTS (National Plan for Teaching Swimming)

The National Plan for Teaching Swimming (NPTS) 2007 is the national syllabus produced by Swim England to assist and support the delivery of swimming lessons.

It is the most successful sports programme of its kind and the syllabus is currently being implemented in over 1,000 swimming programmes nationwide as well as being adopted overseas as a model of good practice.

The NPTS has been developed to use fun and games to take children from their first splash to full competence in the water via 10 stages but is underpinned throughout by Long Term Athlete Development(LTAD) principles, with clear progression between each stage.

The ‘swimmer pathway’ resulting from the revised syllabus provides more opportunity and variety for swimmers, as well as providing a smooth, progressive structure to take them through the stages. Swim England hopes this will improve the number of swimmers who continue to learn to swim in the later stages and provide a clear link into clubs for those who have completed or progressed well through the stages of the NPTS.

A brief overview of Stages 1 – 7:

Stage 1
Developing basic safety awareness, the ‘class’ scenario, basic movement skills and water confidence skills. Swimmers may use aids, e.g. arm bands, floats, etc.

Stage 2
Developing safe entries to the water, including jumping in, basic floating, travel front and back up to a distance of 5 metres, plus rotation to regain upright positions. Swimmers may use aids, e.g. arm bands, floats, etc.

Stage 3
Developing safe entries including submersion, travel up to 10 metres on the front and back, progress rotation skills and water safety knowledge. At this stage, the Swimmer will be assessed without the use of aids or support.

Stage 4
Developing the understanding of buoyancy through a range of skills, refining kicking technique for all strokes, and swimming 10 metres to a given standard as directed by Swim England.

Stage 5
Developing ‘watermanship’ through sculling and treading water skills and complete rotation, also performing all strokes for a distance of 10 metres to the given standard as provided by the asa within the NPTS resources.

Stage 6
Developing effective swimming skills including coordinated breathing across all strokes plus swimming a distance of 25 metres using a stroke of the Swimmers choice; developing the water safety aspects and understanding of preparation for exercise.

Stage 7
Developing quality stroke technique up to 100 metres, incorporating skills learnt and combining them to develop a linked routine and complete successfully an obstacle course that combines a variety of skills accomplished throughout stages 1 – 7.

Stages 8 – 10
Once the Swimmer has developed the core range of skills required to be confident, competent and safe in the water through stages 1 – 7, the Swimmer may then have the choice to take part in different aquatic disciplines.

FUNDAMENTAL SPORT SKILLS, STAGES 8 – 10 of the NPTS are available in Competitive Swimming, Diving, Synchronised Swimming, Water Polo and Rookie Lifesaving.